I am here to listen

I don't know what to say, but I know I can listen.

Unity

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

I don't know what to say. I'm lost for words. Brothers, sisters, friends, humans are fearing for their lives - in my city, my country, on my planet.

And I am here and I don't know what to say. There will be a time when I know what to say and I will say it. I will raise my voice for what I believe in. I will stand up. But today is not about me, and there is one thing I can offer: I don't know what to say, but I know I can listen.

I think what every human needs is someone who listens to them. Someone that is curious about not only their feelings and their current situation, but also their story, where they're coming from, what their experiences are, what they want to accomplish, what they're afraid of, what they dream of. Their secrets and the most vulnerable parts of themselves. And every human deserves to get to know those parts for themselves and decide which of them they want to share with the world.

In my opinion, this is what we as humanity should strive for - to allow everyone to talk about and show what they feel, think inside. But we should all keep in mind these days more than ever that it's not acceptable that in expressing yourself, you are putting other lives in danger, you are putting someone in a bad situation, you are oppressing someone else. There are always boundaries to be kept and respected. And today, on this day, in the current world countless boundaries are broken, mistreated, abused, at this very moment, everywhere around the world.

If you want to talk about anything, if there's something that is bothering you, if you feel bad about something, if there's something that you're afraid of - and also, of course, if there's something you're proud of, or want to learn more about, if there's something that makes you happy. I'm happy to listen to you. There will be no judgement on my side, no expectations. I'm offering you a safe space, filled with just my curiosity and acceptance of who you are.

I value mutual respect. I value love. I value authenticity. Today more than ever. And I can't accept, I won't accept the spread of hate, violent actions, threats of violence, physical or emotional abuse, hurting or killing others, discrimination against anyone.

I can't accept this anymore. So I am here to listen.

Published 1 September 2020

Back Home

    Follow me on Twitter to receive updates about new posts.