Reach you

Reach you

Originally published on Instagram

Reach you

All I need is to reach you.
It's so easy.
I can see you through the thick veil of pain and suffering.

All I need is to reach you.
All I have to do is reach out through the flames.
My arm is burning, but who cares?
For a second, I almost touched you.

All I need is to reach you.
This is one of my easier exercises.
Every time I come near you, you lash out.
Every time you shout, my world shatters into a million pieces.
But when I cry, they are melting back into one piece again.
All that's left are scars, pain, and a heart that grows up to be numb.

All I need is to reach you.
And I've become the best at this game.
Swallow my pride, swallow my tears.
Shut down my heart, that's how I win.
It's so easy, it became a second nature to me.

It could have all been so easy.
But life is not easy.
I did not take the chance to tell you how much I love you.
And you never told me, and now you're gone.

All I need is for you to reach out.
Hold me, touch me, love me.
Tell me it's going to be okay.
I don't care if you hurt me, because I know you are hurt.

All I need is for you to reach out.
But below this pile of crap, I know there is a connection.
It is stronger than any dimension like space and time.
We had our moments of unspoken magic, love and divinity.
And in times of darkness, I hold on to them.

So in a way, we have reached each other long before.
Long before I could walk, or talk.
Along the way, I have forgotten myself.
Now, I am replaying our little game with myself.
It gets really tiring, and it's not even half as fun.

All I need is for you to reach out.
I still need you.
People say I'm grown up now, but I feel like a baby.
My scars hurt, I am clueless, and I could use a little help.

All I ask is a little guidance, reassurance, and love.
I promise I will not waste it, because it's precious to me.

All I need is for you to love me, support me, and guide me.
Is that too much to ask?

Published 19 July 2019

Back Home

Follow me on Twitter to receive updates about new posts.